Mangoes!

Its that time of the year again! Mangoes, glorious mangoes, everywhere! Big fat ones, small little ones, red ones, green ones, yellow ones. And I go on a mango eating frenzy.

Here are the ways I usually have them-

  • I freeze them! Yes. You heard me right. A lot of normal people I know do that. What you need to do is, take a big ripe mango, really ripe, just about to cross the threshold from ripe to, well, you know, not right. Wash the skin properly. Then without de-skinning it, just put it in your freezer overnight. Simple. The next day, just cut out slices and scoop out the sorbet-like flesh and eat eat eat!
  • I make smoothies out of them. I will post a simple recipe on that soon, I promise. Zoom Yummy inspired me with her strawberry smoothie.
  • There’s this shop near my house… they make a mean Mango Milkshake! The milk is frozen first, then crushed and mixed with mangoes. That is sooooo yummy. That is the third way I eat mangoes.
  • And yes, I make my simple mango salad. Here’s how:

Simple Mango Salad:

Here’s the mango I used – a massive 1.5 pounder Banganapalli mango sourced fresh from the southern states of India.

Ingredients

  • This mango or something similar to this mango – and yes any sweet mango will do here
  • Wee-bit of salt: I used Black Indian Salt or kala namak as it gives a characteristic savory taste. If you are feeling adventurous, try to get hold of it from you local Indian store, or ask and Indian friend to lend you some. This salt is supposed to have a lot of healing properties and is used extensively in ayurveda. In lieu of this salt, use a bit of rock salt, bit of sugar and a pinch of ground Chinese Five-Spice mixture.

Procedure

Very simple again: chop up the mango into cubes after peeling it, then add the salt (or salt+sugar+five spice). Toss it. Serve a bit chilled.

I usually end up having a huge bowlful of this for lunch on those lazy summer Sundays. Accompanied with a slow movie or a romantic novel, perhaps?

Just look at that glorious juicy golden yellow flesh!

Share

5 Responses

  1. So tempting i could eat it right now….

  2. Mmmm, I love mango too. Your pictures look so scrumptious. Yummy! Have a wonderful weekend. :) Petra

  3. [...] do get tired of eating mangoes the same old way every single day. I did mention once before the different ways of devouring a mango, but then that too can get tiring after a while. After all, variety is the spice of life, to be [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

