M’s Simple Vermicelli Pudding

Its a Friday! Before the world heads out for a grand “weekend” revelry, I thought I will post a quick something for all you health conscious dessert lovers… ;)

Growing up, desserts always meant – Chocolate Cake, Chocolate Mousse & Ice Cream. And in this limited world, I never realized what a bouquet of myriad sweet delicacies I was missing all my life. Carrot pudding, bread pudding, all kinds of cakes and pastries (not just chocolate ones!), creamy caramel custards… I know I am missing out on a million others, the list is sooooooo endless. As the horizon extended, so did my sweet tooth.

Now, however difficult it is for me to resist anything sweet, you sometimes have to stop and listen to the sound of your waistline stretching. And that is when I decided that I should start experimenting at home – I mean we all remember how mommy used to make a gazillion yummy sweet treats everyday, right? Why, I should do just fine too.

Wrong. It is easy to read a recipe book, but then you do not usually want to use that “3 tablespoons of ghee (clarified butter)” or that “5 tablespoons of sugar” and especially not the “500 grams fresh cream” for everyday eating. Nor do you want to go running to the supermarket to stock up on a million ingredients. That is why I just pounced on the recipe I am going to talk about today, and you will too. M has a severe case of sweet-tooth-edness but is worried about all those calories, and so he came up with this awesome pudding once evening with a few things lying around in our cupboard. It was after dinner and we both were whining about how we want something sweet. He got this ready in a jiffy. It just requires this (vermicelli):


And this:

Add in a whole lot of milk and a bit of sugar. Done. :)

All you men out there, do try this at home!

M’s Vermicelli Pudding, or ‘Kheer’:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup vermicelli. I use the usual semolina (sooji) vermicelli you get in the supermarket, you can use rice vermicelli or wheat vermicelli too.
  • 2 cups milk. If you want it milky and a bit liquid-y, use about 3-3.5 cups milk.
  • A handful of cashews and raisins
  • Sugar to taste; I used about 2 tablespoons. If you using more milk, increase the amount of sugar.
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable/canola oil. If you want it decadent, use about 1-2 tablespoons of clarified butter/ghee.
  • Sprinkling of cardamom powder (optional)

Procedure

  1. In a non-stick pan, heat the oil/ghee.
  2. Add the vermicelli to the oil and fry till it becomes pale golden brown.
  3. In the meantime, chop the cashews up roughly. Add the cashews and raisins to the vermicelli and fry for like a minute.
  4. Now add the milk and the sugar. Let the milk boil slowly on low flame, so that the vermicelli gets to soak in all the goodness.
  5. We both love cardamom, so at this stage, we sprinkled cardamom powder to the bubbling mixture. Let this simmer away till the vermicelli is nice and cooked through and the milk has thickened out. I like it I like when the milk pretty much evaporates, but if you like, you can let some thick liquid remain.

Here’s the last remaining bit of pudding in my bowl:

Dig in, guys!

Share

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers