Spice Infused Nutella-Coated Chocolate Cake For Lunch?

I know what you are thinking. Yes I do.

Ok. Maybe I do not know exactly what you are thinking, like, right now. But I do know that you think of chocolate at least once a day. And a chocolate cake at least once every couple of days.

What did you say? Thats me, not you? Ah. Well, you do know me by now, don’t you…

I admit. I think of chocolates and chocolate cake/brownie/muffin/souffle/mousse at least once a day. Most of the times, it spills over into taking up my entire day.

So last Friday, I was browsing through my favorite food blogs when I came upon Smitten Kitchen’s Spice Infused Brownies. And I just had to make something similar for me (and of course, M).

I took the liberty of changing the recipe a bit – I made a cake instead of brownies, and I used my all-time-favorite nutella to coat the cake, more as a¬†substitute¬†for any frosting. So here it is…

Spice Infused Nutella-Coated Chocolate Cake:

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 cups plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1.5 teaspoons nutmeg powder & 1 teaspoon cardamom powder
  • 0.75 cups canola oil or any vegetable oil
  • 0.5 to 0.75 cups milk (depending on how moist you want your cake to be – more milk for more moistness)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Nutella – as much as you think is enough.

Procedure:

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade. Slather a bit of oil on the sides and bottom of baking pan – I used a pretty pie-pan as that was the only clean one!
  • In a bowl, mix the flour, salt, cocoa powder, baking powder and spices together.
  • Whisk the 2 eggs. Then add the vanilla, oil & milk and stir until combined. Add the sugar and whisk till all is combined.
  • Using a spoon or a spatula, fold in the wet & dry ingredients together.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes,or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.
  • Once the cake cools, tip out onto a serving dish and slather nutella on the top of the cake. It will look like so:

  • Cut out a big slice and serve!

Here’s my slice. A thing of beauty!

I digged in :)

Do make some soon! And let me know how it goes…

14 Responses

  1. This looks SO so so good – despite the fact that cake doesnt usually appeal all that much to me. Such a good job!

  2. Delicious :)))

  3. Yum! Anything Nutella is great with me! I’d love for you to submit this to the M&T Spotlight at http://www.makeandtakes.com/spotlight

  4. I tried this tonight- it was yummy! I blogged about it too, here: http://muslimahh101.blogspot.com/2011/03/baking-break-spice-infused-nutella.html

  5. Incredible! This looks just delicious. I’m not sure I should be given free reign with the Nutella though. :)

  6. This looks spectacularly delicious! Love this!!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

